Tura Takes Out The Regional Award for Excellence

Tura is delighted that the 2016 Regional Program won the Award for Excellence in a Regional Area at the Australian Music Centre and APRA AMCOS Art Music Awards last night. The jury described it as “outstanding for its professionalism, vast distances covered, use of the local environment and for leaving resources and experiences in the communities with which it engaged.”

A huge congratulations to the other finalists in the category, Four Winds, Ngarukuruwala and Primal Dance Company.

Tura wholeheartedly thanks the artists involved in the 2016 Regional Program including Jon Rose and Catherine Ashley for the Djarindjin/Lombadina Residency, and Reflection2 Tour artists Stephen Pigram, Mark Atkins, Erkki Veltheim, Stephen Magnusson, Judith Hamann and Greg Sheehan, as well as all of the guest artists who collaborated with the tour. Likewise Tura thanks all the communities, organisations and individuals without who’s support the Regional Program would not happen.

Tura was also a finalist in the Award for Excellence by an Organisation and Artistic Director Tos Mahoney was recognised as a finalist alongside Cat Hope, Daryl Buckley (winner) and David Bridie for the Award for Excellence by an Individual.

Tos Mahoney, Artistic Director of Tura, says of the award:

“It’s a great boon for our Regional Program to again have this level of national acknowledgement. Our residencies and tours are all evolving processes building on connection to communities and individuals past, present and into the future. The award is a great tribute to all of those committed to the process of evolving culture.”

Read the full details of the 2017 Art Music Awards in the Australian Music Centre’s Resonate Magazine.